2010 Under 17 Final – Penallta Storm 20 CPC Bears 18

Aled Jones may have been the star man for CPC Bears by scoring a hat-trick of tries but it the end it was the Storm who were walking in the air as they secured victory in the last minute thanks to a Chris Thomas try converted by David Hooper.

It was the only time that Penallta had been in the lead in the whole game and it was a disappointed end for the new boys from Carmarthen in a tight game.

Jones dived in to give the Bears a fourth minute lead but Craig Owen forced his way through minutes later to level things at 4-4.

It was soon 10-4, Jones again with Dafydd Evans converting, a Nathan Dix try goaled by Hooper brought it back to 10-10, before Jones completed his hat-trick to give his side a four point lead at the interval.

Good defence by both teams on their own lines made sure that there was no scoring until the last ten minutes before James Turrell dived over in the dying minutes to increase the Bears’ lead to 18-10.

However Josh Evans got a try back for Storm to put them within four points before Thomas’ try coolly converted by Hooper, secured the under 17 title for the Storm.